Hello - My name is Zar

MY DETAILS  

Sex: male 

Breed: Cross breed

Age: about 3 year old (Status May 2021)

Size: medium-large, weight: 25kg

Neutered: Yes

Vet Checked: is positive in Leishmaniose, but completely under control

Location: currently in a finca in Northern Spain 

HAPPY WITH

Other Dogs in the Home: Yes

Other Dogs Outside: Yes

Cats: Yes

Children: Not tested

DESCRIPTION

This gorgeous 3 year old boy is Zar, a medium-large sized crossbreed at 25kg. He came to us in a pitiful state, having been affected by the Mediterranean disease Leishmaniasis, which is transmitted by sand flies. The man he lived with was homeless, and although he cared for him greatly, he didn’t have the financial capability to offer Zar the treatment he needed. Leishmaniasis is very common in Spain, but at the critical point Zar was in when we found him, required a full care plan to get him on the road to recovery. For this reason, although he was loved, Zar was handed over to us.

Dogs in Spain really struggle to find homes once they have tested positive for this disease, and poor Zar has been waiting for over two years for his forever family to come forward. He responded really well to treatment (as you can see from his photos) and is now active, happy and doing really well. The transformation is amazing, and Zar now really needs a home to love him and offer him the life he deserves. He takes two tablets of Allopurinol a day to keep the Leishmaniasis under control (these are very inexpensive at around €5-10 a box, for a month supply) and the disease is completely managed. With the medication and yearly check ups, Zar is ready for his new life. He is only three years old and really doesn’t deserve for his life to be defined by an illness that is treated. He can lead a full and normal life.

Zar is an active boy, loving nothing more than long walks in the countryside. He would be the perfect hiking partner for an active family, and is very obedient so could do well in doggy sports! He is an affectionate and friendly dog, he loves a fuss from his people. He is good with other dogs, both male and female, though he can be a bit pushy in a multi-dog household, squeezing his way in to the middle of any cuddles.

We feel Zar would be happiest in an active home with a fully enclosed garden to explore-He isn’t tested around cats and children, but knowing how energetic and bouncy he is will only consider homes without children or older children who are dog safety.
 Zar is currently in Spain but read to travel to England and Wales (NOT Scotland) as soon as the right home comes forward. If you would like to open the doors of your home to Zar, please get in touch with us.

MY PERSONALITY

  • I am very bright and love working things out
  • I love my exercise and need an active home
  • Is Playful
  • I am very much into my toys and love a good game

MY PREFERENCES 

  • I need a home that is at ease with my kind of dog, who have a good understanding and experience of dog behaviour
  • I cannot be placed in a property with no direct access to a private garden

  • I can not be placed in a home with children

  • My family should be outdoor lovers

MY SKILLS

  • Unknown